The Co-operative Credit Union League of Trinidad & Tobago

Calendar of Events 2022

About Us

Our League

Our Vision Statement

The Co-operative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago was established in April 1947. It is the national umbrella organisation of local credit unions and provides a wide range of services to its affiliates. A twelve-member board of directors provides policy direction to the League. Over 80 credit unions with a membership in excess of 400,000 and total savings of over $4 billion are affiliated to the League.

There are two types of Credit Unions in the Movement. They are:

  1. Community based/Regional Credit Unions and;
  2. Industry based/Occupational Credit Unions


The League possesses unique skills to support the credit union system and provides information, training and technical services to its member units while representing the movement at the national, regional and international levels. At present, two Ministries are responsible for the operations of the Credit Union Movement: The Ministry of Enterprise Development and Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Finance.


The Cooperative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago is affiliated to the Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU) and the World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU). The League was instrumental in the establishment of the Trinidad and Tobago Credit Union Stabilisation Fund and the Central Finance Facility (CFF) and works closely with CUNA Caribbean Insurance Society Ltd. Credit Unions are a self-regulating body managed by their Board of Directors, Credit, Supervisory and Education Committees and management teams.

Functions of the League

The Board members, in order to carry out their mandate of developing the Credit Union Movement within their Chapter Area, have six (6) sub committees through which to implement the Chapter Development plans. The Committees are organized based on the areas of focus in our Strategic Plan:

  1. Leadership
  2. Strategic Positioning
  3. Human Resource Development
  4. Finance
  5. Credit Union Operations
  6. Research and Development

League Structure

There are several Departments in the League, which are designed to fulfill its objectives. These are:

1.  Finance
2.  Credit Union Monitoring and Reporting Unit (CUMRU)
3.  AML/CFT Compliance
4.  IFRS 9
5. Internal Audit
6.  Administration

The League also performs a variety of functions each of which are designed to help the Movement provide better services and act in the best interest of its membership.